Sale Out of Stock

Hawkwind – Hall of Moutain Grill (Imported 2 LP)

$44.98 $39.98

Amazing 180 Gram Vinyl Reissue of Hawkwind’s 4th album.

Out of stock

SKU: RCV012LP. Categories: , , .

Imported from Plastic Head

Amazing 180 Gram Vinyl Reissue of Hawkwind’s 4th album.

The group’s fourth studio album, it was the first by a new line-up that included Simon House on synthesizer, Mellotron and electric violin; absent were Robert Calvert, who had previously contributed lyrics, vocals and spoken word interludes, and Dik Mik, who provided electronic effects. House’s addition was generally seen as enhancing the band’s musicianship and sense of structure, though perhaps at the expense of the improvisational nature of earlier work. The album’s title was a nod to Edvard Grieg’s “In the Hall of the Mountain King” and to a Portobello Road cafe called The Mountain Grill (now closed), frequented by the band in the early 1970s. The cover of a derelict spaceship in the mists of an alien lagoon was painted by the band’s regular artistic collaborator, Barney Bubbles. The rear cover was by noted space artist David Hardy. The record featured hard rockers like “The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear in Smoke)” and “Lost Johnny” (subsequently recorded by bassist Lemmy’s post-Hawkwind band Motörhead and also by co-writer Mick Farren with his band the The Deviants), psychedelia such as the heavily-phased “D-Rider” and “Web Weaver”, as well as quieter atmospheric numbers like the instrumentals “Goat Willow”, “Wind of Change” and the title track. Side Two of the original vinyl LP was bookended by “You’d Better Believe It” and “Paradox”, live tracks recorded at the Edmonton Sundown in January 1974, that recalled the ‘space jams’ of earlier releases. In the wake of Robert Calvert’s departure, lead vocals for the album were performed by Dave Brock, along with Lemmy on “Lost Johnny” and Nik Turner on “D-Rider”. Despite Hawkwind’s relative success in the charts at this time, the band’s line-up would continue to shift during the year. Del Dettmar left prior to the release of Hall of the Mountain Grill to live in Canada, Alan Powell joined as an additional drummer, and science fiction author and friend of the group, Michael Moorcock, stepped in to read poetry at their concerts.




Hall of Mountain Grill

Release Date



Plastic Head


12" Vinyl

Number of Vinyls




Track Listing

Side A
1. The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear In Smoke) – 6:50
2. Wind Of Change – 5:08
3. D-Rider – 6:15
Side B
4. Web Weaver – 3:15
5. You’d Better Believe It – 7:14
6. Hall Of The Mountain Grill – 2:25
7. Lost Johnny – 3:30
Side C
8. Goat Willow – 1:38
9. Paradox – 5:36
10. You’d Better Believe It (Single Version) – 3:22
Side D
11. The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear In Smoke) Single Version – 3:58
12. Paradox (Single Version) – 4:04
13. It’s So Easy – 5:21

/* ]]> */